The Few, The Faithful, The Intercessors

We ran into some important people yesterday.   Not too many achieve their distinction in life- they are ambassadors to the most revered and despised ruler known.   They take what they hear and know to this ruler then plead for life and grace, for blessings and mercy,  for protection and peace on behalf of others.

They are known to thousands and applauded by legions; they are known to few and applauded by no one.   Their fame is in heaven and there obscurity on earth.

These are, in my opinion, giants of the faith.    They are the few, the humble, the faithful intercessors of our day.

The ones we met yesterday were elderly, in their eighties.  A couple who informed us that daily they pray for us and our family.  Daily!  They have prayed for us since the day we were married.   Before that, they prayed for Mike since they knew him as a child and for me, namelessly, as his future wife.   Forty years of daily intercession!  They are the few and the faithful.  

We met two others several months ago.   In a church in North Central Ohio they approached us, thanking us for an updated prayer card as the ones they had were worn and tattered.   These two saints, both women, told us they too pray for us daily and have done so since the first time we spoke at their church over ten years ago.  They are the few and the faithful.

Another I’m not sure I’ve ever met.   But I did meet his daughter who told me three months ago, “My dad prays for your family every dayI’ll mention to him I saw you and tell him of your current prayer needs.”  He is one of the few and the faithful.

I can’t tell you what feelings run through me when I hear these things.  Amazement, awe, humility, unworthiness.   To be honest, I suddenly feel so little, so nothing;  I want to just drop my head as the enormity of it all hits me.

Yes, they’re important.   But they’ll never get the recognition for their faithfulness here on earth.  They are well known, not to the world, but to the Saviour in whose presence they worship and plead.  They are the humble warriors.   They pray not because of who we are or what we do, but because of who He is and what He’s done.   

They are the few, the faithful.   They are the intercessors.  I don’t applaud them- somehow it wouldn’t seem right.  But I do thank God for them and stand humbled in their presence.

One thought on “The Few, The Faithful, The Intercessors

Comments

