Computer Grief

I shouldn’t be surprised that Murphy’s Law applies to computer technology.

First our internet goes out.  We live in missions housing, so calling for technical help was that much more frustrating since the account is not in our name.   Try explaining to a foreigner (sounded like a techie from India) that, yes, we use the system, but no it is not our account.  It belongs to the church.  “Okay, tank you, mad-um, if you could please give me dee owner’s meedle name“.   I explained to him that the church doesn’t have a meedle name.   “Ah, yes, I see“, he says, “pleez may I have you-ar house address“.  So I give it to him.  Which of course led to much more discussion since our home address and the church address are not the same.    After 35 more minutes, he tells me to “deez-coe-nect dee modem, wait therdy sayconds, plug eet back een, then ple-us tell me dee light sequence on dee modem“.   I lost him.  Literally.  The modem controls not only the internet but the phone and TV as well.  Hello?  Hello?   He – loo – ooo?

Aurgh.

But wait…could it be?  The internet worked!   So I don’t know what happened or what light sequence he was waiting for, but at that point I didn’t care.  Our internet awoke from it’s coma!

Then last night my computer crashed.

That ‘it’s-gonna-happen-to-everyone-sooner-or-later’ Windows problem hit: my system 32 config file corrupted.  The Geek Squad is now working on it.  Three days they said.  I told them I don’t have three days.   I have to be at my weekend class in two, and my assignment is on my computer.   They’ll do their best they promised.

Then our college son notifies us that his college issued laptop was stolen over Thanksgiving break, and no, insurance does not cover it.   He has two weeks left in the semester, finals coming up and all assignments due.   He has to buy another one from his school, but he doesn’t have the $500 bucks needed.  Neither do we.   But come to find out, ni modo, doesn’t matter, because the college is temporarily out of stock of their student issued computers.

So, can anyone tell me if Murphy’s Law has any kind of a clause I should know about?

8 thoughts on “Computer Grief

  1. i’m missing your writing! What is taking that Geek Squad so long? Seriously, I hope you were all able to get the class-work done that you needed to finish….
    eeks…we depend on these things way too much.

  2. Computer Grief. I found myself
    cracking up about this computer grief post. It was hysterical, until I realized
    that I was laughing on your behalf.
    I really apologize- what a bad sister in law – it just was really funny writing!
    Unfortunately all the facts in the story have actually happened to you so I will try to contain myself.

  3. My laptop has been acting up…my solution. I have two jump drives that are life saves. I have saved all my most important documents/pics/etc on the jump drive. Then I can use them on any pc.

  4. oy, whatever did we do before computers?? my precious laptop fried a couple of months ago…thinking that the mother board or whatever couldn’t handle all those power surges in Meh He Co.

    thankfully my mom offered to lend me some monies so that i could get a new one…

    as far as there being a clause in murphy’s law…dunno…never heard of one…only clause i’m hearing about these days is santa clause. 🙂

    praying you get it all straightened out…

Comments

