Sloth Blogger

Tired of hearing Christmas music?   I know I know.   I should be with it; after all it’s five days into 2008 already and I haven’t yet wished any of you out there in blogosphere a Happy New Year.

Yet in a way I have.  I wish for you the words of the previous post to revive your heart and encourage your soul.

Long lay the world in sin and error pining

Have you felt as if you’re wasting away?  If not in body, how about in spirit?

Till He appear’d and the soul felt its worth”

Have you allowed Christ to appear in your life?  Your soul will come alive…and you’ll feel unworthily rich inside.

“A thrill of hope, the weary world rejoices”

Just think:  a new year, a new beginning, a new hope!  This is no cheap thrill.  This is a remarkably expensive and enduring thrill.  May your weary self rejoice!

“Fall on your knees! Oh, hear the angel’s voices”

Go on, do it.  I dare you!  Fall on your knees; thank Him! Praise Him! Cry to Him!  Then be still and hear the beauty of heaven surround you.

In all our trials born to be our friend”

Believe it.  Experience it.

“”He knows our need, to our weakness is no stranger”

And you thought no one knew what you are going through; thought no one knew the pain or the betrayal or the loss.  You cry in the night so others don’t see your weakness.  Christ knows.

“Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we, let all within us praise His holy name”

There is freedom and power in praise.  Sing!  In key or flat, like an angel or like an animal in angst.  Doesn’t matter how it sounds coming through your vocal chords, but it does matter that it comes from the heart.

Blessings throughout the coming year!

2 thoughts on “Sloth Blogger

  1. Every holiday I seem to have a favorite Christmas carol or hymn. This was it this year! The more I sang or hummed it, the more the words impressed me deeply – and blessed me. I just couldn’t keep that blessing inside all to myself anymore!
    I hope it blessed you even half as much as it did me. 🙂

Comments

