My Sabbath

Yesterday I took my Sabbath and it was good.  It is God’s gift to me, and to everyone else who keeps  it.

This is something we have purposed to do and again, it doesn’t just happen.  We have to focus and plan to make it happen.  For many Sunday is their day of rest.  Usually for me Sunday’s are not a day of rest.  It really doesn’t matter what day, since Jesus himself said that man was not made for the Sabbath, but that the Sabbath was made for man.

So, what did I do?   I read, meditated, prayed and studied.  I also took a nap!  Later, I spent a very relaxing (stress-free) time with my daughter, while one son was at basketball and the other was at work.  I am ready for another week!  My body is refreshed and my spirit renewed.

I’ve had others say, “Wow, that’s great that you can do that.  It’d be nice if I could“.  I encourage them to do whatever it takes to make it happen for them as well.  After all, it is one of the ten commandments!

Last time we were in the states on deputation (2002-3) I had asked women this question:   How does a woman take a Sabbath?  After all, we still need to cook and prepare food, perhaps run errands, or play chauffeur to kids in sports, right?  How would you answer that question?  Do you honor the Sabbath?

I’m curious to hear your responses.

3 thoughts on “My Sabbath

  1. ih,
    Cost in planning a get-away at a hotel is definitely an issue. When you said ‘spend time in a QUIET house’ it made me smile. My ‘retreat’ has become my backyard. Being at home, in a quiet house is definitely my idea of a place to rest and meditate!
    I think we have to find what works for us and do it…but definitely find it!

  2. Pam, we tried doing that (me getting away at a hotel) and it worked for awhile. But then the cost issue arises. Now, I go away once a month for my OSOM classes which I have to count as my getaway, although not my Sabbath, since attending a class, doing homework, studying and test taking do not constitue rest.

    I’m on the run so much it’s nice to have all the kids in school and spend time in a QUIET house! We have agreed, though, that Mike takes care of the kids in the afternoon as well, so I am not obligated, thus giving me a rest from my typical duties.

    Y me gusta!

  3. ih-
    We have a mutual friend who took time away from family while her husband watched the kids. She spent time meditating, resting and refreshing tucked away in a hotel. It was an extended time of sabbath.
    We can’t always do that, but we can forge out time and sabbath from our daily busy-ness. You gave a perfect example, although you are an extremely busy lady, you took the time and did it!
    Sometimes I think it has more to do with where we are placing priorities than not being able to ‘escape’ the busy-ness of life!

Comments

