Me meme info

I’ve been tagged for another meme by Elaine at redheadrev. What is a meme?

j0433133 In biology, a meme (rhymes with “theme”) is a self-propagating unit that is spread from one host to another; they mutate or die.

For bloggers, meme’s are Internet cultural novelties people link to and repeat (propagate). I really don’t know whether these kind mutate or die. (?!)

The meme I’ve been tagged for is this: I have to share 7 interesting things about myself, then tag seven others to do the same.

  1. I used to have a strong desire to skydive out of a plane…but don’t anymore. (I seem to have plenty of adventure in my current calling, which at times I imagine is a similar sensation to the free fall!)
  2. I love to fly and would really like to take a flight in a helicopter or a fighter jet like the Blue Angels. I’d probably need clean clothes after that latter one, though!
  3. Since I’m on the flying thing, I’ll add another one: in high school my brothers and I went (without our parents knowledge or permission) to fly in a glider plane with a retired WWII vet. It was awesome! Gliders have no engine, and are pulled up either by a mechanical winch or by another small plane; the cable then releases and the glider soars like a bird, as the pilot with skill maneuvers the wing and tail flaps according to wind speed and direction. Definitely one of my most memorable experiences. It was fall time and I remember being awed at the beauty I looked down upon, seeing a beautiful oriental rug woven by the Master’s hand out of the changing leaves on the trees, while off in the distance Lake Erie became a sea of brilliant diamonds glistening in the afternoon sun.
  4. Growing up, I was referred to as the “rose among the thorns”. Why? I have four brothers and I am the only girl.
  5. I hate transition. And I’m a world missionary! Go figure. Hmm, I think I’ll write a book called “Stop Moving My Cheese”. Or I’ll just keep trusting the Lord to lead my life one day at a time. 🙂
  6. I first heard the Gospel from Billy Graham on TV. Then I attended an AWANA group at a local Baptist church during my upper elementary years. The complete dedication of my life to Jesus Christ happened when I prayed with a counselor of the 700 Club via phone. (Wow, some Christian TV does have redeeming qualities!) It was during that conversation that I asked about a Pentecostal church they could recommend, and they gave me directions to the local Assemblies of God church. The rest is history.
  7. I just began packing for our transition (ouch) back to the mission field.

Now I’m going to add a twist to this meme: instead of me tagging seven others, I would really like you, yes YOU, to leave a comment below giving me some interesting 411 about yourself!

(So how about it Pam, Sandy, Erin, Jaime, Linda, Hellen, Dorinda, CBGrace, or Sista Cala?)

8 thoughts on “Me meme info

  1. What seven things to put on the world wide web? Hmmm

    1. It took me FIVE years to get a masters degree. Most whipper snappers get them done in two.
    2. Get your heart pills out Pam – I’d rather have potato chips than chocolate.
    3. For the first time in my life I am torn between living in two countries: Mexico, one of my first loves, and the United States, where my daughter attends college. Before she left home, I always felt like my home was here, and itinerating was only a temporary thing. I miss her too much, and our son leaves home this summer. I already feel the pain getting worse.
    4 I am the shortest person in my family, and the tallest woman on our block, in our church, almost always at the grocery store, ….. you got the idea. Even so, I was a lousy basketball player in high school.
    5. We spent a term feeling isolated, as the nearest missionary was six hours away by car. I am pretty excited to be living near other missionariesa this term, and soon another family will move into the region. Yay! But, I am unsure of how best to help Ilona and her family prepare for Campeche’s climate. The only idea I can come up with is to go the nearest pizza parlor, ask to sit inside their lit oven for five minutes, and increase their time in the oven five minutes a day until they can handle the heat for two to three hours at a time.
    6. Sometimes I wish I had a secret double life where I could spend several hours a day doing research in a lab.
    7. I hate filing, I don’t mind transition, I would love to learn how to fly a plane but flying a helicopter sounds like more fun, and I would love to jump out of a plane as long as some big strong super experiened sky diver was strapped to me.

  2. I love it! Thanks Linda, Pam and Jamie for responding.

    @Linda – LOL at your clutzy info. You never struck me as being clumsy, nor did I ever feel you were an introvert. I think you do a super job in ministry, and probably just as well at teaching.

    @Pam – Mm- hm, I’m learning more about you all the time. It’s good stuff to keep on hand for area retreat fun 😉
    One of the facts about you I find most interesting is that you were a sherriff’s deputy! Probably had a clean desk w/ messy drawers and hidden chocolate somewhere, right?

    @Jamie – first of all, I’m sorry I misspelled your name at the bottom of my post. Duh. That’s what happens when a person learns more than one language: she can speak two but can’t spell eethur.
    Wow – I didn’t realize you come from such a large family. As for missions sounding risky, the unknown is always a bit scary. I know how it is with your #4…. I just can’t remember minor details, and forget exact quotes. I’ve always flopped at telling jokes and riddles for this exact reason.
    Hey, my kids are pretty neat. I’ve decided to keep them. 🙂

  3. ok…here it goes

    1. I have 5 siblings, so they all say I’m the spoiled one since I’m the baby. They are all 10 – 17 yrs older than I am…..so maybe I was a little spoiled!

    2. I am not a risk taker at all….I like to play it safe as much as possible…..so sky diving is defiantely out of the question for me. And though I feel called to do missions, I’m scared to death! That is a bit RISKY if you ask me.

    3. Just like Pam I appear to be organized…but I can be a mess, just ask my family!

    4. I have a tendency to mis-hear stories and repeat them back to people completely wrong. I completely think I’m telling the story accurately, but in reality, the story will be completely false! I am very scatterbrained at times…what can I say….

    5. I am 30 years old and this is my favorite age ever…so far…i never thought in a million years I would love being 30. But I do, it has been awesome!

    6. I am a picky eater. I don’t like red meat, and I’m very picky about white meat. Not for any special reason either, it just grosses me out. And I don’t like any type of sea food.

    7. I don’t like transition either. It is very hard for me. Change is a scarey thing for me and it makes me irritable and even more scatter brained than what I already am….. 🙂

    Thanks IIona….and one more fact…I think that Joey and Jonny are amazing kids. I am so happy I’ve met your family! See you Wednesday!

  4. Well reading everyone else’s, I’ll give this a whirl…

    1. Afraid of heights…you all sky jump, go right ahead…i’ll be on the ground waiting to pick up the pieces with Linda.

    2. I hate filing.

    3. I appear organized, but it is a scam…if you open a closet door, you take your life into your own hands.

    4. My puppy Chico is one of my best friends 🙂

    5. No, no, wait, chocolate is one of my best friends….

    6. I am very undecisive….

    7. We have 3 dogs and a bird in our house, and I never wanted any pets.

    Just for you Ilona :), oh, by the way, i like the twist you put on this meme, i never wanted to tag other people, didn’t want to bother them, but I can do this! This works!

  5. Uggh Ilona, I never know what to say for things like this, but I’ll give it a whirl.

    1. I too grew up as the only girl in my family (but only 2 brothers) and now am the only female in my own household (husband, 3 sons, 2 male cats, and even a male fish).

    Dorinda, I’ll have to respectfully disagree with your #1 fact: as

    2. I am the biggest clutz in the world. I always have food dribbled down my shirt. I fall both down and up the stairs. Last week for example, as my youngest fell down the stairs I raced to him, I fell down right behind him. My poor DH was at the bottom of the stairs and saw both of us plow into him. I now have the largest ugliest bruise to show for it.

    3. I’ll try any food at least once. I’ve eaten — shark, alligator, muskrat, buffalo, kangroo, horse, and even raw ground pork smeared on bread.

    4. I can’t stand any type of tea (hot, iced, herb, green) and am not a fan of coffee either — but will drink it if I have to.

    5. I’m scared to death of heights (even escelators freak me out) and I can’t stand when my kids get close to a railing, even on the second floor.

    6. Although we’re in the ministry and I’m a teacher, I’m not a people person. It’s a real struggle for me, I’d much rather stay home. I’m definately a home-body.

    7. I’m a salt-a-holic. I over salt all my food. And for snacks I’d choose nachos over chocolate everytime.

    Next ….

  6. @ Dorinda – Thanks for sharing! Very interesting stuff! It shares a bit of your heart and gives us a glimpse of your personality. Dolly Parton? That was unique!

    @ Hellen – Hey chicamiga, vielen dank! Wow, we share a few similarities, don’t we? Still look forward to meeting you someday; start praying about that Women’s Conference you’ll help with in Campeche!! 😉

  7. Hmmm, 7 interesting things, huh? Well a couple of yours made me think of similar ones in my life…but here goes…

    1. People have generally assumed that I must be spoiled because I too am the only girl in a family if 6…5 brothers!

    2. I too have always wanted to skydive and I have a local friend who not only teaches it but she dives on competitively at a world level on a team…so never say never…come join me here!

    3. I get very passionate about things but can get bored easily once I’ve mastered something…need lots of variety to keep my interest. 😀

    4. I was born in Mexico and when my dad was trying to make the decision about where to move when leaving Mexico the decision was made by drawing straws. The choices were Canada and Australia…Canada won!

    5. I love nature…walking in it, exploring it, and taking pictures of it. It is fun to identify new plants, flowers, trees, etc…and so amazing to think that our Creator took so much time to create such incredible varieties!

    6. Motivating others, and encouraging them, to growth and change is what makes my heart sing. So humbling and rewarding to be used as an instrument of God in this!

    7. I am currently adjusting to being back in the workforce in Canada after a very rewarding, albeit difficult, time of working in Chihuahua, Mexico.

  8. First of all- THANK YOU for educating me on what a meme is!!!! I have seen it for the past several months and thought – “What on earth is that!!!” ha!

    okay! intersting things …..
    * I am the world’s biggest clutz! falling, tripping, getting concussions….. that is the norm for my world!
    * I am madly in love with my husband of 24 years! He is awesome- my best friend.
    * I would love to meet Dolly Parton. I not a big fan of country music- at all- but I admire her as a person. I would also like to meet Laura Bush.
    * I would love to be on the mission field! Everytime we sing the old song – “I’ll go where you want me to go…” I get all teary eyed, but God has not called us to go on the mission field, so we go on short term trips and pray and give!
    * I am a natural procrastinator. Not proud of it, but have to work on it every day!
    * We are pastors at my home church. After being a way for 20 years, God called us back to my home town and home church!
    On that note- ALL of our staff are from this church. My husband hand picked this team one by one and all of them except one couple grew up in this church and the other couple were lay leaders here for 10 years before joining our staff.
    * I am a chocaholic- mainly m&ms. I collect m&m stuff and am working on m&m wrappers from all over the world.
    * I have climbed the Great Wall of China – and I witnessed the masses of people in Beijing and Guangzhou! People who need Jesus!

    love and prayers,
    dorinda

Comments

