Today I stilled my mind

Transition is approaching and I have more questions than answers. Pains from the past pop up. My mind has been whirling faster than it should- troubled with perplexities that are not simple equations to be figured in one quick mathematical exercise.

My mind and emotions playing tug of war, sometimes with each other, but usually sided against me. I knew I needed to be still, not physically, but mentally and emotionally.

So today, after my aerobics and a shower, I grabbed a bag and tossed in my MP3 player loaded with worship songs, a camera, my journal and my Bible, then went to paradise; rather the closest thing to a paradise on earth I could find near our house. A whopping five minute drive took me to a former estate that features 47 acres of landscaped gardens, greenhouses, hiking trails and an immense brick mansion.

Sitting on a bench, I stretched out my legs and began to journal the creation that surrounded me: the sun warming me as I slipped off my sandals; the white magnolias that were dying as the pink ones were just blooming; the sky a soft, calming blue with large cumulous clouds gracing my world; birds, many kinds each with their song; a peacock calling for his peahen; the budding trees stretching their limbs toward heaven and the gentle breeze carrying sounds and smells of springtime.

I sipped my water and reached to pop in my earphones when I realized I didn’t need those songs to draw my heart to worship…I was already experiencing the beauty of worship as the creation around me reflected and exalted it’s Creator and mine. My mind emptied as my spirit soared.

I became still and knew, once again, that He is God.

The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still. – Exodus 14:14

Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you. – Psalm 116:7

Be still and know that He is God – Psalm 46:10

4 thoughts on “Today I stilled my mind

  1. @Hellen – thanks for sharing the Ps 19 verse; it’s a good one!
    @Debbie – I trust you are daily strengthened in HIM, He is good
    @Peggy – I’m glad you liked the photos; as always though photos don’t bring nearly the beauty as the eye beholds. (Also, I could’nt find the cable to hook up my digital camera to the computer, so those photos are from the internet, but still from the very place I went to).
    Peggy, I didn’t mean to ‘humble’ you on your site. I suppose I should be more careful on how words can come across in print when tone of voice and facial expressions aren’t there to aid in communicating.

  2. Gracias Hermana for such peace and stillness in your words to allow God with such beautiful photos in the slide show to bring you to that place! My mind races often like that when I’m travailing or in transition.

    Thank you for your comments at my blogspot and humbling me. Of course, by now, Susana has gone home to be with the Lord, and knows that Wycliffe has translated into many. The one that I’m aware of is Nahuatl. Many still are not accepting of God’s Word!
    There is such a stronghold! but you know and are aware of this! Thank you for your ministry and your obedience.

    I pray that the ALMIGHTY will answer each of your needs and decisions! That you will have this kind of peace about it in HIS STILLness and Grace.
    Vaya con Dios!

  3. Ah yes! Those verses are key ones for me as well. The LORD has used the one in Exodus many times in my life.

    And how I love the way His creation draws me into His presence just as you’ve described.

    “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky displays what his hands have made.” Ps 19:1

Comments

