The OB-GYN, the Scalpel, and my little Mexicana Rose

During most of my pregnancy I repeatedly told my OB that I did not want this child delivered by C-Section.

Even so, eight years ago today, my little princess (child number four, daughter number one), was pulled into this world.

We were living in Chihuahua City at that time and as my (Mexican) friends and neighbors began to find out I was pregnant they would naturally ask, “So what day have you decided to have the baby?” What kind of question was that? No one knows exactly when the baby would be born, I would reply. With shock, and I mean that literally, eyes widening, blinks pronounced and eyebrows furrowing they would ask, “You aren’t scheduling a C-section? You plan on having this baby naturally?”

Wow. How weird could I be, thinking I could deliver this baby the way women having been doing since Eve started the trend ages ago. Tag another one on to my growing list of ‘cultural faux pas’. I would find out that C-Sections were the way to go for women in Mexico, at least northern Mexico; at least the non-indigenous northern Mexicans.

The reasons? First of all, it was convenient. Everyone could plan around the birth, instead of having life stop because “I think it’s time- the baby’s coming“. Second of all, at least according to many women, avoiding natural birth keeps the hips from spreading. Too late. I’d already delivered three boys naturally; there was no more spread left in these hips; they’ve reached their limit (any more and my leg sockets would pop out).

I stuck to my guns and in so doing became a novelty, a sort of discussion piece if you will. And with each pre-natal visit, I repeated my wishes of a natural delivery to my doctor. After a few initial “Segura?”‘s (are you sure?), she would greet me with “Senora Hadinger, parto natural”. (Mrs. Hadinger, natural birth). I was confident that she had caught on that I was serious about this.

On April 25, 2000, I was asked to reconsider my choice in the matter.

My water broke and Mike rushed me to the hospital. As soon as I changed into that lovely hospital gown, a nurse came over to help get me comfortable when suddenly her eyes widened, she said, ‘un momento’, and then rushed out of the room. Within seconds she came back with my doctor and a few other nurses who quickly strapped a fetal monitor around me and set me up to the machine.

My water contained obvious amounts of meconium poisoning and it was affecting my baby’s life, per the readings of her hearbeat. The doctor suggested an emergency C-Section, but would leave the decision to me since I had been so opposed to the idea. Just then, Mike, who had been parking the car, entered and was made aware of the problem. There was no question now; no longer a matter of convenience or aesthetics, this was quite possibly a matter of the baby’s life or death. Yes, cut me open and take her out ASAP!

Mike could not come into the operating room with me and I was a bit frightened and lonely as the rush was on. I would have preferred them to knock me out completely, but with only a localized anesthesia, I was left coherent with my mind racing with thoughts like “No one even knows this is happening, do they?” “I wish Mike would be in here with me” and “Someone needs to call my mother”. Then I closed my eyes and prayed, quelling my nervousness and a panic that began creeping in.

Within 10 minutes, my little girl was pulled into this world. The whitest and biggest baby most in that operating room had ever seen, with reddish blonde fuzz crowning her head.

Today she turns eight. She is our very own Mexican – American, holding dual citizenship. They used to call her “La guerrita mexicana” (the little white mexican).

My husband calls her Sunshine; I call her mamita.

She is a gift from God.

*smile*

6 thoughts on “The OB-GYN, the Scalpel, and my little Mexicana Rose

  1. Vicente – thanks for the correction! How did it go that long without notice??? I appreciate the brief grammar lesson too – I had NO idea that the u with the dots was called a dieresis.

  2. “guerrita” with double ‘r’ and no dieresis on the ‘u’ means “little war” and sounds like ‘gerrita’ because the ‘u’ is mute when after a ‘g’.

    “güerita” on the other hand, with dieresis and only one ‘r’ means “blondie” (sort of), and sounds like ‘gwerita’ because of the dieresis on the ‘ü’.

    Here in México, it’s common to call “güerita” or “güera” to any girl/woman that has hair color other than black.

Comments

