Old Fashioned Internet?

We have internet at the house.  Yippee!  But it’s dial up and my laptop won’t connect at more than 28.8.  *sigh* The other day my daughter was sitting next to me and listened as I signed on.  She was fascinated by the connecting sounds of phhhhzzz-ting ting-doodle-deedle- poing POING and asked, “Is that old fashioned internet?”

An oxymoronical question like that is indeed telling of the speed of today’s technology.

Another missionary who left the field offered to give us their satellite, but the cost to have internet set up through that is astronomical.  Neither cable nor high speed internet has yet arrived to our pueblo.  When we called, we were told, “in a few months we’ll offer service there“.  Translation:  maybe in a year or two or three we’ll get up to your area.

I have wanted to respond to all the comments that have been left on my various posts, as well as follow many of your blogs that I enjoy, but I don’t have the time to do that on the slow connection and I simply have not had the opportunity to go into town by myself and hang out at a wi-fi cafe for a few hours to do so.  This dilemma has also hindered my online course and I now find myself behind in three lessons.

I’ve been using Windows Live Writer to write our blogs offline.  When they won’t publish through our dial up, I then wait until we happen to be close to a coffee shop in town that offers wireless and then I have but a few minutes to enjoy a cuppa Joe with my honey and quickly send mail and my posts and receive messages. 

Ah, but this is all part of new millenium transition.  A hundred years ago, I’d still be on a mule or a train, or I’d be hauling water up from the river to bathe, or I’d be sending you these messages by pigeon. 

Old fashioned internet?  Just a matter of perspective.

5 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Internet?

  1. Aye aye aye…pobrecita…sin internet…es una lastima!

    Stop by and visit with me soon… there will be something special waiting for you. It’s in Tuesday the 12th of August post!

    But since you don’t have Internet, I guess it’ll be forgotten. I was thinking of you and feeling bad now!

    Sharing the Love & Friendship! Que Dios te bendiga y pronto un servicio del internet moderna…jajaja!

    Vaya con Dios…

  2. love you post….
    i sympathize with you. i had a rough time on vacation without wi-fi….
    just think: more time with your husband at the coffee shop! 🙂

    blessings!
    dorinda

  3. Pobrecita! 😀

    I DO feel for you.

    It is difficult to go back once you’ve experience high speed! Glad I had it in Cuauhtemoc…combined there with the phone line.

    But like Sharon said, Better than nada, no?

  4. It’s better than nothing, huh? But it is very hard to go back.

    LOL at Translation: maybe in a year or two or three we’ll get up to your area. 😀

Comments

