Help! Has God left you in the dark?

(This devotion by Dave Wilkerson was sent to me via e-mail by Hellen. Thanks!)

I know what it is like to face divine silence, not to hear God’s voice for a season. I have walked through periods of total confusion with no apparent guidance, the still small voice behind me completely silent. There were times when I had no friend nearby to satisfy my heart with a word of advice. All my patterns of guidance from before had gone awry, and I was left in total darkness. I could not see my way, and I made mistake after mistake. I wanted to say, “O God, what has happened? I don’t know which way to go!”

Does God really hide his face from those he loves? Isn’t it possible he lifts his hand for a short while to teach us trust and dependence? The Bible answers clearly: “God left him [Hezekiah], to try him, that he might know all that was in his heart” (2 Chronicles 32:31).

You may be going through a flood of trials right now. You know what I’m talking about when I say the heavens are as brass. You know all about repeated failures. You’ve waited and waited for answers to prayer. You’ve been served a cup of affliction. Nothing and nobody can touch that need in your heart!

That’s the time to take your stand! You don’t have to be able to laugh or rejoice, because you may not have any happiness at the moment. In fact, you may have nothing but turmoil in your soul. But you can know God is still with you, because Scripture says, “The Lord sitteth upon the flood; yea, the Lord sitteth King for ever” (Psalm 29:10).

Soon you will hear His voice: Don’t get excited, don’t panic. Just keep your eyes on me. Commit all things to me. And you will know that you remain the object of his incredible love.

More devotionals visit http://davidwilkersontoday.blogspot.com

For more sermons by David Wilkerson, please visit http://www.worldchallenge.org/en/pulpit_series_newsletters

4 thoughts on “Help! Has God left you in the dark?

    1. Sista Cala – yes, I respect him and his ministry. Glad you stopped by! I don’t have much opportunity anymore to follow blogs like yours that I enjoy, so it’s always a nice surprise to hear from someone like yourself. Blessings on you and your ministry too!

  1. 10 Who among you fears the LORD
    and obeys the word of his servant?
    Let him who walks in the dark,
    who has no light,
    trust in the name of the LORD
    and rely on his God.

    11 But now, all you who light fires
    and provide yourselves with flaming torches,
    go, walk in the light of your fires
    and of the torches you have set ablaze.
    Isaiah 50.
    This is what you shall receive from my hand:
    You will lie down in torment.

  2. This devotional was in my inbox in the a.m. after I cried out the LORD the night before…reminding Him of how clearly He has shown Himself in various and miraculous ways…and asking Him many questions. Then…the devotional arrives! With all that has happened in my life the past two years, with all the unpredictability, God keeps telling me that it is about learning to trust Him…to trust His promises.

    Loving Him has always come easy…but trusting…that’s been more difficult. I love the stories of people such as George Mueller and his wife, who decided to depend on God alone to supply their needs and the needs of their ministry and orphanages–never again to approach people about them. http://www.wholesomewords.org/biography/biorpmueller.html But loving the stories and choosing to trust Him to do the same in my life are two very different things.

    As I”m writing this, I realize that God has placed me in a position where He can show me that He will do this for me if I only give Him the opportunity…and I”m too busy frantically lighting my own fires rather than trusting Him in the dark! (Isaiah 50:10-11)

    Ah Amiga! It was for me that you posted this today even though I originally sent it to you. Because the Spirit has opened my eyes to something deep in the process of formulating a response!

Comments

