Piropos- Flirtations

Latins do have a romantic reputation now, don’t they?  Every Valentine’s Day brings out a new host of piropos, or flirtatious sayings around here.  I love them!  They go both ways, too:  from the man to the woman or from the woman to the man.

images

Here’s a sampling of a few.  (They flow much nicer in Spanish, and many of them rhyme):

  • If beauty were seconds, you’d be 24 hours.
  • When you take a sip, I want to be the glass, to meet at your lips and give you a kiss on the mouth
  • You’re late! I’ve been waiting for you my whole life.
  • To tell myself to stop thinking of you is like telling my heart to stop beating.
  • You’re like a capuccino:  sweet, hot, and you make me nervous!
  • I’ll only stop loving you the day an artist can paint the sound of a tear falling…
  • Didn’t you get hurt when you fell from the sky?
  • Heaven must be sad to have lost a beautiful angel like you
  • When you’re in my arms, I forever wonder how much I owe destiny for the fortune it gave me to be with you
  • If your arms were my chains, and loving you my prison, what a joy it would be to serve my sentence!
  • I wish I were one of your tears:  born in your eyes, fall down your cheeks, and die on your lips.

Comments

