My first post

Some bloggers have done or offered special things when their blog stats reach a certain number of hits, say like 10,000. Up until now, I have not, mostly due to indifference. My blog has now reached 16,000, and though that number is not necessarily  remarkable in the world of blogging, I find myself contemplating it.

Thoughts like these play across my mind:

  • I’m so glad my friend inspired me to begin one (thanks Pam!)
  • Who would have thought I’d ever “speak up” this way?
  • Why do people read my blog?
  • Does this blog encourage, give insight, or draw the reader closer to Christ as I hope it does?
  • I enjoy it’s therapeutical side

In the midst of all these, I decided to go back to my very first post from late August 2007. The beginning of my blog journey was nothing more than a reflection on Scripture through an ordinary event; a global publishing of my self-directed thoughts, if you will.

In case you’re interested, here it is, copied and pasted below. I hope it encourages you, or someone, today.

From Yellow Bus to Pink Pajamas – a reflection on Psalm 46:10

Be still and know that I am God.

I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”


[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=school+bus&iid=210045″ src=”0206/af4442b0-75b2-4e1f-ad1d-611ab0567b22.jpg?&imageId=210045″ width=”234″ height=”156″ /]A jump off #38’s bottom step, a shout hello and a race across the yard.  As I watched her I thought to myself, this kid knows only one speed:  fast! Waiting for my hug and hello, I heard those two words that I could set a clock by:  “I’m hungry!”   As I was preparing her after-school snack, I told her to change her clothes since we had some errands to run later.

She came down wearing her pink pajamas. [picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=pink+pajamas&iid=6344959″ src=”e/f/9/a/teenage_lifestyle_shot_3738.jpg?imageId=6344959″ width=”175″ height=”250″ /]

I looked at her and before I could comment or ask, she simply said, “I don’t want to go.  I want to stay home.”   What?   The seven-going-on-seventeen shopping queen actually (as in real life) telling me she doesn’t want to go somewhere…anywhere?  Is this the one who’s second most spoken phrase (after “I’m hungry”) is “I’m bored; can we do something?”   In short, she was pooped.

I changed my plans.   We stayed home.

Just like a child who recognizes her tiredness and seeks the quiet, still side of life (even if it is uncharacteristically so) we too should learn how to stop running and just “be still”.  That is how we again discover that God is God.  That is when we again learn that he will be exalted among the nations and in the earth…and in the stillness of our soul.

It’s a refreshing reminder that gives us the strength to face one more day, perhaps one more trial, with confidence.

Stop the bus.  Your pajamas are waiting.

2 thoughts on “My first post

Comments

