The Wrong Bus

Over the weekend, my daughter and I went to the zocalo (downtown Oaxaca City). When hubby’s out of town with the car, like this past weekend, we take public transportation – crowded buses with fringed velour, crucifixes, graffiti, and loud ranchero music.

When we were ready to head home, my daughter and I got on the wrong bus. We ended up on the other side of the city, far from home. How? One reason was because I only read some of the destination signs and not all.

Here the buses list half a dozen or more locations on its front windshield to where it makes stops. The main destination is in the largest letters at the top. And that is what I ignored. I simply looked at some of it’s stops, recognized a few I had been looking for, and hopped aboard.

During forty minutes of stop and go in heavy traffic, I noticed that the driver hadn’t made turns where I expected he would. I patiently told myself this must be a longer route, and sooner or later we’ll end up at the stops listed on his window. Then he kept turning and moving farther away as the passengers dwindled to only five of us. Finally, when we crossed a river that headed into an area on the other side of the valley, I knew we were way off any sensible route that would eventually take us home.

I walked up and asked him about the stop I had been expecting.

He replied, “I was there a while back, now I’m going home to get a bite to eat.”

Are you kidding me? He deviated from what his windshield indicated. Or so I thought. I should have read the sign on top. He had changed it to indicate the area where he lived, and ignorantly I hopped on board, with my daughter in tow.

We wasted no time in getting off that bus and ultimately made it home, safe and sound.

How like life for so many who are on the ‘wrong bus’, heading far from home – the home that God has provided in heaven.

Perhaps they too read some of the signs on the windshield: Peace, Happiness, Good Works, Religion, Benevolence, Faith. They hop on board failing to read the sign on top, which may display words like Humanism, Christian Science, Islam, Atheism, Mormonism, Religion, etc.

What many don’t realize is that there is only one “bus” that will take them to an eternal home in heaven; it’s the bus with the banner of Jesus Christ. The others may make temporary stops to places that sound right, but in the end the error will be evident. And once the river is crossed, it’s too late to hop off to find the correct way home.

The Bible says that Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life. No one can go to heaven and see God, except through Him. Neither is there salvation in anyone else, for there is no other name under heaven by which to be saved from eternal death.

In other words, there is only one bus that will get people safely home…forever.

In fact, those who, like me, have boarded the “Jesus Bus” have a new home waiting for us in heaven. It’s a promise, one among many! Jesus himself said, “In my Father’s house are many mansions…I go to prepare a place for you…and I will receive you.”

What about you? Which bus are you on?

I hope and pray that you will hop on board the right bus. There’s no waiting, there’s always room, and your fare has already been paid. All you have to do is believe that Jesus Christ was raised from the dead, and confess with your mouth that He is Lord of all.

Then, enjoy the trip to your custom-made home!

Bible references: John 14:6; Acts 4:12; John 14:2; Romans 10:9,10

One thought on “The Wrong Bus

Comments

