Pavos, Flecos, Bangs

It’s high time I write about something every cross-cultural woman faces with dread: getting her hair done.

This may not seem like a big deal. Until you try it.

I remember the first time I attempted it in Costa Rica. We were three months into language school when I braved the beauty salon. I ended up asking for them to cut my horse.

“Eh?” they asked.

Mi caballo” I repeated. Then I caught my mistake, “cortar mi cabello.

Another notch in my I-feel-like-an-idiot belt.

So I sit down and before she does anything begins to play with my hair. Anything lighter than jet black has always appealed the Latin crowd. Ask our son Jonathan, who had more people touch his blonde hair than he cares to remember. And when you’re four it’s downright scary.

“Do you want pavos?” she asked. My mind raced; I had heard that word. Oh yeah! That means turkey. What? Do I want what?  Was she offering a sandwich? What was she talking about?

Growing a bit impatient, she asked again.

“I don’t know. What is that?” I replied.

Pavos!” she said, pointing to her forehead.

Ahhh, bangs. Why in the world do they call them “turkeys”? Then again, why in the world do we call them “bangs”. And why in the world do language schools not offer a vocabulary class for all things feminine?

I survived that year of learning, among other things, beauty salon parlance.

Then we arrived to Mexico. And like hair does, mine grew. It was time to find another beautician. Sweaty palms looking through a phone book, fingers tapping nervously as ads are judged to see which one looks worthy.  (Mr. Psychologist, please note this for your next study on missionary stress factors).

So I found a place, made an appointment, and went. I asked the girl to please give me turkeys, er pavos, but not to cut them too short.

Que?” the girl looked at me in confusion, her eyebrows popping up.

I repeated myself. She looked at her co-worker, then back at me.

Really, does the student now have to be the teacher? So I pointed to my forehead and repeated, “pavos”. The light went on and she…laughed! She turned to her co-worker, who also laughed.

Yeah, sure. And we’re supposed to write thrilling, testimony-filled newsletters?

So that day I learned that in Mexico, bangs are called flecos, not pavos. I also ended up leaving there with my trimmed hair pulled tight into a ponytail with huge flecos that stuck out about two inches and curled under almost to my hairline.

I looked like every other Mexican in Chihuahua. That in itself isn’t bad, but the style was so not me! I quickly let my hair down, but my bangs wouldn’t budge for the amount of spray it had. My husband looked scared; my boys snickered.

About a year later, I decided to highlight my hair. I went to another salon on a friends recommendation. I asked for rayos, the word I had heard for it. She started asking me a series of questions, and I had no idea what she was saying. Finally, I caught the word luces (lights) and agreed. It had sounded right, at the time.

It’s a miracle I made it home without an accident since I kept glancing at myself in the rear view mirror. She frosted my hair! I wanted highlights, not frosted hair! And not just a few strands…it was my entire head! Short, frizzy, and frosted! Suddenly visions of what I imagined Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, a character from my childhood reading, to look like danced in my head.

I was hoping to get some affirmation when I got home.

Instead, my six year old’s eyes grew larger than silver dollars, his jaw dropped open as he slowly took a step backward, and finally said in a slight whimper, “You look old!”

Now you know why I buy my hair color in a bottle.

Today, I once again undertook the brave adventure of finding a salon here in Oaxaca, since I haven’t yet found one that I’m sold on.

I need to add here that I haven’t cut my hair since June, when we were in the states and I visited the JCPenney salon near my parents house. It had now become long, wild, and bushy. Mike kind of liked it, but enough was enough and it needed trimming.

I told the stylist what I wanted: a little taken off in the back, layers all around, and the front down to my jawline. I took off my glasses and listened to the snip-snip of the scissors. I was feeling good about myself. My daughter sat and watched. I could hardly wait to see how it would look, especially since we’re attending a council later this week and will see people we haven’t seen in a while.

The hair dresser then began drying and styling my hair, and like every woman reading this, I began imagining myself sporting the exact cut I wanted. Fresh. A bit youthful. Maybe even snazzy. I could hardly wait to put my glasses on and check out my new look.

My reverie suddenly popped and came crashing down with my daughters voice. “Hey, Mom, you look like Grandma!”

 

6 thoughts on “Pavos, Flecos, Bangs

  1. My first experience getting my hair done in Russia was not until we had been there for 2 years… I did my own perms at home! I was able to get the cut that I wanted from her and a lecture about never perming my own hair again. The joys of missionary life!!

    Here in Belize they speak English and so far I really like the gal who does my hair and how she does it. Whew!!

  2. Hellen – seriously? Is it the word ‘fannie’? They must get a hoot out of the US gov’t agency called Fannie Mae.

    Janene – you got it! Let me know when you want to get it cut (and colored?) hee hee

  3. I love this blog! I want to get my hair done before I go home for Christmas and I am already getting nervous. We will have to have a “hair” vocabulary session before I go. 🙂

  4. 🙂 Even in English we have these difficulties…with communicating in a way that the stylist ‘gets’ what we want…and in how English varies from country to country.

    I can still recall, when in England, how red the faces of my friend’s sons went when I talked about the fanny pack that I wore around my waste. ‘Tis a very very crude word in their culture. To this day, I hesitate to call it that.

    Well written as always, my friend.

Comments

