Enriched

Ninety days, sixty-six books, three dozen friends, five countries, three languages.

And oodles of sticky-notes.

I feel…richer.

It was an impromptu decision at the end of May that made me schedule an “event” on Facebook called the “90 Day Bible Challenge”, where we would read the Bible cover to cover in 90 days, beginning with Genesis and ending with Revelation.

I mentioned it here as the 90 Day Plunge, with “plunge” being the operative word!

This was not an original idea. My attention was grabbed when my brother shared with me his experience of having completed the challenge with men from a Bible study. (The 90 Day Challenge is a well-marketed program and a tool many are using in churches and small groups).

I posted the challenge-event and we (FB friends from Latin America, the USA, Europe, Asia and I), began June 1st. Being the end of August today, the 90 days is completed.

I would love to hear how my friends did (perhaps some are still working on it?), but as it is with Facebook Events, when it ends, the event page vanishes. I’m hoping some will write me, or leave a comment here. (hint hint).

To keep up with the daily reading, on which I occassionally fell behind and then had to buckle down to catch up, the time required was between 45 min. to an hour.

Who has time for that?

We all do…if we make time for it. One friend said,

All I’m reading is the Bible; I haven’t had time to read anything else.

That isn’t so bad. And she didn’t say it to complain, either.

It only takes substituting FarmVille, or American Idol, or Facebook surfing with Bible reading, and wa-la!, it’s done.

Naturally, we all have days that are abnormal and no matter what we do, the clock ticks faster than we can keep up. Yet the truth remains that we give ourselves to things that are simply time-wasters – things in which we invest ourselves for no return whatsoever.

 

In my case, I would take advantage of my fairly predictable habit of waking between 4:30 and 5 a.m. to listen to a narrated audio version of the Bible. I would have a pen, sticky-note pad, and my Bible on my lap. This replaced my normal 20 min. devo.

Except when we traveled; then I would pop the CD in and we would all listen. And yes, I carried either my stickies or a small notebook with me.

As I listened, I would jot down thoughts, truths, or ideas that jumped out at me, either as a nugget of truth for the day, needed insight, something to chew on, or fodder for teaching/writing.

I experienced, once again, that the Bible is alive! Daily it was, and is, at work in my mind, heart, soul.

It is the Creator of the universe himself speaking, sometimes with a whispered word of encouragement to soothe the spirit, other times with a trumpeting of profound truth to rattle dispassion, but always with a love that results in His highest praise…and if we allow Him, a life that increasingly reflects His image.

I can’t think of anything richer than that. Can you?

The 90 days is over, but my time seeking treasure from God’s word continues.

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever.

 Isaiah 40:8

Indeed, the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

 Hebrews 4:12

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Enriched

  1. My hat is off to you for making this challenge to friends and for finishing it yourself. I’m sure you’ve been enriched beyond measure. I’ve never done anything so RADICAL as to read the whole Book in 90 days, but I agree fully that God’s word is alive and reading it every morning is one of the great joys of my life.

    Congratulations and blessings to you!

    1. Thanks Olive. And amen to that! Whether it’s 90 days, or a year, or whatever, it is the only source for sound doctrine and building up of our faith.

  2. Wonderful post. I hope you get some great feedback from those that went on it with you!

    Being from a bilingual English/French country, it behooves me to tell you that wa-la is actually ‘voilà’ 😉

    1. Thanks for being behooved enough to share your morphological insights. 😉 I honestly did not know that. And btw, I couldn’t remember if you had joined or not, but if so, I should have added Canada as another country, bringing the number to six.

Comments

