The Treasure Box

Today’s post is by a special guest-writer: my sister-in-law, Gabriella Nagy. Enjoy! 

Box_for_small_items_1

I married a missionary and with that life came a lot of moving.

When our daughter, Gabriella, was 3 years old, we moved back from overseas. We told her she can only bring a few of her most important toys, those that could fit into one little box. Once here in the states, we moved three times in 6 months and still she carried her box everywhere.

We called it her treasure box. She wouldn’t let anybody touch her box; it was very precious and personal to her. In her eyes, everything in it was extremely valuable.

One day we moved  into my brother-in-law’s basement and I was very busy cleaning, packing, and moving things around. I was determined  to finish everything by the time my husband came home from work. In the middle of my work,  little Gabriella came to me with the little box in her hand and said, “Mommy here is my box; you can pick anything you want from my box and keep it but please would you play with me?”

I told her  I was busy right then, but I would sit down and play with her when I was done.

The day quickly went by and it was nighttime before I realised my daughter had already fallen asleep. As I covered her with a blanket, I looked at her sweet face and thought she looked like a beautiful little angel. In that moment something caught my eye beside her pillow.

It was her treasure box. Only then did I remember my promise to her.

My heart broke and tears filled my eyes, for I realised that when she offered me that box filled with her precious little toys, she had offered me her love. It was like her telling me, “Mommy I love you and I need you and I will give you anything you want if only you would spend time with me.”

The worst pain was knowing that I ignored her and now it was too late to turn the clock back; I had missed a vital moment. Just then, I sensed God speaking to my heart, teaching me an important lesson: “My child, I too have a treasure box, sent down from Heaven filled with many gifts. I gave it to this world out of my great love.

“This treasure is Jesus. Many people are too busy to take the time to accept what He offers. They may take the time to glance at Him, but never open the treasure, nor accept it as their own. In Him are the treasures of love, peace, forgiveness, healing, and so much more! I gave my greatest treasure to this world, my Son Jesus Christ, with the hope that many people will accept the gift simply by opening their heart and receiving.”

I learned a valuable lesson on that day.

Now I have a question for you: What will you do with this treasure offered to you by God?

I hope you won’t be like me looking at my daughter’s treasure box but too busy to accept it and love her.

Jesus is that treasure box, and He is waiting for you to accept Him in your heart, opening the access to all the great treasures found in Him!

Tomorrow is not promised to anyone; would you pause and accept this gift now?

Comments

